The Liverpool quartet of Fabinho, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Mohamed Salah and Virgil Van Dijk have missed out on the men’s UEFA Player of the Year award after they were left out of the final three-man shortlist as revealed by the football body on Friday.

Van Dijk, Salah, Fabinho and Trent were regulars in the Liverpool squad as they reached the Champions League final last season. They all featured in the Champions League final which they lost to Spanish champions Real Madrid by a lone goal.


No Liverpool player made the final list of nominees for the aforementioned award. The three-man nominees’ list was released earlier in the week. Manchester City star Kevin De Bruyne and the Real Madrid duo of Karim Benzema and ThibautCourtois.

Belgian playmaker De Bruyne won the Premier League Player of the Season for last season after he playeda big part in the Premier League title triumph for Manchester City. De Bruynewas a key player as Manchester City retained their Premier League title to make it four Premier League titles in five seasons. However, he was unable to propel City to the Champions League final. De Bruyne and City crashed out of the Champions League last season at the semi-final stage courtesy the aggregate defeat at the hands of eventual champions Real Madrid. Manchester City won the first leg at home via a 4-3 scorelinebefore the Spaniards overcame the deficit by beating the Premier League holders 3-1 at home at the end of extra time.

Real Madrid are the reigning Champions League winners after they saw off Manchester City in the last four of the competition last season and Liverpool in the final. Brazilian attacker Vinicius Junior scored the only goal of the game as Real Madrid beat Liverpool 1-0 to win the title number 14.